Credit Union History

Houston Milk Producers FCU (HMPFCU) was chartered in 1936 to serve dairy farmers in Harris County, TX, which at the time numbered approx. 440. The area being served was known as the "milk shed" grew and grew to include areas in East Texas and to the west out to LaGrange, Brenham, etc and to the north up to Navasota and Madisonville. The milk marketing cooperative was called, at that time, South Texas Milk Producers Association.

Other milk marketing cooperatives were located in San Antonio, Austin and Waco. In the early 1960's these cooperatives joined together to form Milk Producers, Inc. (MPI) and several years later the cooperatives in cities such as Dallas and Corpus Christi formed AMPI, (Associated Milk Producers Inc.). AMPI reached through the Midwest from the Gulf of Mexico to the Canadian border. Within AMPI there were 3 regions with Texas being in the Southern Region. Within the Southern Region there was the Southern Division, DFW Division, Western Division, Oklahoma Division and Arkansas Division. Houston was in the Southern Division.

Throughout the 80’s and 90’s we merged with many other Credit Unions. The DFW Division had a credit union called Texas Dairymen's FCU which merged with HMPFCU in 1980 and the credit union for the Western Division, Central West Texas Milk Producers Association FCU, merged with us in 1985. Biehl NOHOGA FCU was another Credit Union that merged with us in 1990. Oklahoma Dairymen’s FCU merged with HMPFCU on June 1, 1999 and Norton Employees Credit Union, Stephenville, TX merged with HMPFCU on June 1, 2000. AMPI merged with several other milk marketing co-ops and became Dairy Farmers of America (DFA), in early 1998.

HMPFCU changed its name to Members Trust of the Southwest FCU in 2000.

We moved our OKC office into the Livestock Exchange Building in the Oklahoma City Stockyards in summer of 1999. We then moved to our present location in November, 2003.

We built our building in Stephenville beginning in August, 1999 and moved into it in March, 2000.




Mission Statement

Members Trust of the Southwest Federal Credit Union is dedicated to the philosophy of "members helping members" in a professional environment by providing all member-owners with quality financial services based on sound business practices and by delivering these in an efficient and friendly manner.




Board of Directors

Johnny Leibham -Chairman
Kevin Kleb - Vice Chairman
Lori Carter - Treasurer/Secretary
Don Borneman - Director
Wayne Benfer - Director
Clarence Helfrich - Director
Henry Schmidt Jr. - Director

Supervisory Committee

Don Bornemann
Margaret Moore
Leslie Schultz


Home Banking
On-line Loan Application